About

Other me

I am an aspiring author. I am currently writing my first book, Mamacona. When I am not writing, you can probably find me doing one of the following:

  • Reading (naturally)
  • Eating avocado
  • Skiing
  • Marvelling over maps or photos of maps
  • Drinking Campari
  • Drinking wine
  • Watching sci-fi
  • Watching rugby
  • Trying to get my husband to look at photos of cats

I hail from sunny South Wales (see photo below for evidence of “sunny”) but currently live in Hertfordshire with my husband (but sadly no cat). I enjoyed writing from a very early age, but this is the first time I have attempted anything longer than a piece of English GCSE coursework or a 5 page (illustrated) saga about Barbie, her friends and their fateful trip to the beach (I emphasise that this latter was over 20 years ago).

Beach

I studied Economics and Finance at university, and previously worked as a tax consultant, so it’s safe to say I resolutely ignore the advice to write about what you know (I’m sure somebody out there wants to write a book about a young woman living in the Home Counties and working in finance, but that person isn’t me).

I enjoy reading books with beautiful writing, a supernatural element, and a setting in a time or place not often written about, and I hope at least one of these things is reflected in my own work. Favourite books of mine (off the top of my head and in no particular order) include Rebecca (Daphne du Maurier), The Chateau (William Maxwell), Girl with a Pearl Earring (Tracy Chevalier), The Little Stranger (Sarah Waters), The Passage (Justin Cronin), The Portrait of a Lady (Henry James),  and The Forsyte Saga (John Galsworthy).

clock-613842_1920

Subscribe to my mailing list

Please sign up to my mailing list and receive updates on my book, latest writing and thoughts…